Boston Public Library
Massachusetts Book Awards 2002
Honoring books published in 2001

The Massachusetts Book Awards are presents each year by the Massachusetts Center for the Book. To be eligible, books must have been written by authors who currently live and work in Massachusetts or must present topics of particular and specific importance to the Commonwealth regardless of their author's residency.

Archive of Past Lists

Fiction Award

Mystic River
by Dennis Lehane

Fiction Honors

The Bostons
by Carolyn Cooke

Eva Moves the Furniture: A Novel
by Margot Livesey

Yellow: Stories
by Don Lee

Non-Fiction Award

The Imprisoned Guest: Samuel Howe and Laura Bridgman, the Original Deaf-Blind Girl
by Elisabeth Gitter
HV1624.B7 G57 2001

Non-Fiction Honors

Gracefully Insane: The Rise and Fall of America's Premier Mental Hospital
by Alex Beam
RC445.M4B442 2001

Uphill Walkers: A Memoir of a Family
by Madeleine Blais
HQ759.915 .B55 2001

Poetry Award

Poems Seven: New and Complete Poetry
by Alan Dugan
PS3554.U33P65 2001

Poetry Honors

Memoir of the Hawk: Poems
by James Tate
PS3570.A8 M46 2001

Oubliette: Poems
by Peter Richards
PS3568.I31665O93 2001

The Seven Ages
by Louise Gluck
PS3557.L8 S4 2001

Children's / Teen Literature Award

Moonpie and Ivy
by Barbara O'Connor

Children's / Teen Honors

Mountain Pose
by Nancy Hope Wilson

Rocks in His Head
by Carol Otis Hurst

Archive of Past Lists